Celebration Time – Starting a Sabbatical Break…!

2nd November 2015 – After 25+ yeaFeatured imagers working in the IT industry, including the last 17 years working for IBM, I’ve been given a fantastic opportunity to take a sabbatical break as part of one of IBM’s employee programs. For a number of reasons the timing is perfect and although I will miss a number of things (including the people, our clients and direct access to so many innovation programs and resources) this opportunity is just too good to turn down.

My sabbatical starts in November 2015 and is planned to last a full year but with potential options on either side before I return back to a full time role in IBM. Don’t worry though I’m not planning to become a devotee of daytime TV – I’ve got lots planned from visiting roles and collaboration with universities to creative writing (taking classes and writing stories) to projects in the vegetable garden, time with the family, a more active lifestyle (including lots more walking and tennis) and yes a little travel and beer too (just like in the picture).

In fact I think my biggest challenge may well be just how to fit this all in – but this is nothing new – over the last few years time management has been a critical factor for me at work so now I’m taking it into the rest of my life.

I also thought this would be a perfect opportunity to hone my blogging skills and tell the story of my sabbatical as it unfolds. Where the blog will go at the moment I just don’t know but I’ll do my best to share my thoughts and experiences, good and bad, of taking some time away from the day job and the impact this has… So watch this space and please do feedback what you think as the year goes by.

Leave a Reply

